Kingfisher - songs for Halcyon

The long-awaited Kingfisher CD is now out.  Released through Tall Poppies, the CD features 21 new commissions written in 2013-14 in celebration of Halcyon's 15th birthday.  An outstanding collection which showcases the richness of Australian contemporary writing for voice and chamber ensemble.



  1. Andrew Ford: To My Excellent Lucasia, on our Friendship [2:42]

  2. Stuart Greenbaum: Opalescence [4:00]

  3. Paul Stanhope: My Love in Her Attire [1:38]

  4. Elliott Gyger: The Pleiades at Midnight [4:27]

  5. Stephen Adams: Sometimes snow fell, sometimes darkness... [3:43]

  6. Jane Stanley: Round the Bay [3:31]

  7. Graham Hair: All About Anna [4:06]

  8. Rosalind Page: Aquila’s wing [2:49]

  9. Nicholas Vines: A King’s Manifesto [6:01]

  10. Katy Abbott: Follow Me Through the Shadow [2:57]

  11. Dan Walker: The Mystic Blue [3:40]

  12. Ross Edwards: The Tranquil Mind [3:16]

  13. Kevin March: Sea-blue Bird [4:07]

  14. Sharon Calcraft: Verathmende, Schillernde, Blitzende... [3:09]

  15. Andrew Schultz: Lake Moonrise, Op. 94 [3:56]

  16. Gordon Kerry: Music (La Musique) [2:59]

  17. Raffaele Marcellino: Turbulent Passions Calm [3:43]

  18. John Peterson: See, the Prismatic Colors Glisten [4:47]

  19. Nigel Butterley: Nature Changes at the Speed of Life [2:41]

  20. Moya Henderson: I Lost a World the Other Day [3:38]

  21. Gillian Whitehead: All One Water [4:24]


Alison Morgan soprano, Jenny Duck-Chong mezzo soprano, Laura Chislett Jones piccolo, flute, alto flute, bass flute Jason Noble clarinet, bass clarinet, Geoffrey Gartner cello, William Jackson & Joshua Hill percussion

Recorded at Trackdown Scoring Stage, Sydney in May-July 2014.  Engineered and mixed by Daniel Brown.

Mastered by Christo Curtis, Utopia Audio.

Cover photograph: Lorenzo Cortelletti  Cover design: Elizabeth Duck-Chong

Available through Tall Poppies or Halcyon.

Read The Australian  & Sounds LIke Sydney reviews