Cool Black

Chamber Works by Rosalind Page

Cool Black (MCD396) features three chamber song cycles by Australian composer. Each has its own unique language - both linguistically and musically. apollinairesongs draws on the poetry of Guillaume Apollinare, Hrafnsöngvar the poetry of Hrafn Andrés Harŏarson and Sonetos del amor oscuro, winner of the Paul Lowin Song Cycle Award, 2006, the poetry of Federco García Lorca.  



1. le pont Mirabeau

2. toujours

3. claire de lune

4. l'univers


5. Ì upphafi

6. Morgunn

7. tónfygli - fuglar himins

8. Lífiŏ sjálft

9. Spá

10. fuglagiŏ - Perluregn

11. Ó, Fró, bín móŏir

Sonetos de Amor Oscuro

12. El poeta habla por teléfono con el amor

13. Noche del amor insomne

14. Soneto de la guirnalda de rosas

15. Llagas de amor

16. El poeta pide a su amor que le escriba


Jenny Duck-Chong mezzo soprano, Alison Morgan soprano, Mark Shiell conductor, Roland Peelman conductor, Laura Chislett Jones flutes, Diana Springford clarinet, Nicole Forsyth viola, Clemens Leske piano, Patrick Murphy cello, Genevieve Lang harp, Ben van Tienen celeste, Tommie Andersson lute, baroque guitar, theorbo, Daryl Pratt percussion, Claire Edwardes percussion, Kirsty McCahon double bass, Rosalind Page balinese gong, soundtrack

Recorded and engineered at Trackdown Digital by Daniel Brown, Sept 2007-February 2008.  Edited and mixed by Daniel Brown, Rosalind Page and Halcyon.  Mastered by Kathy Naunton, dB Mastering. Produced by Halcyon and AVT.

Available as CD from Halcyon, the Australian Music Centre and Buywell and as an mp3 from the Australian Music Centre